Connect with us


Women Football Strategy 2019

Women Football was established in 1998 by six teams from Gaborone. A competitive league was formed in the year 2000,where teams registered with Botswana Football Association to start women’s’ league. The league grew from strength to strength and found its first sponsor AT & T Monnakgotla who sponsored from 2010 until 2013.

In 2004, a decision was made by women’s’ committee to divide the league into Super league and first division north as it had a large number of teams. Super league remained with twelve teams and first division with nine teams in 2015. Other regions such as Chobe, Palapye, Franstown, Kasane , Tsabong and Selebi Phikwe
joined and played tournaments in their own regions.

The women’s league were run and administered by the National Women’s Football Committee which was first elected before the start of season 2014/2015.

Our Vision is To increase participation of girls and women in football.

Our Mission To provide opportunities and a conducive environment for a girl child and women to participate in the game of football.

Download the complete strategy below;



BFA attains CAF C Diploma.

Botswana Football Association on Friday received news that 45 of the 57  coaches who enrolled in the CAF C Diploma coaching course have passed with flying colours.

The course that took place in 2019 had been under moderation. The achievement of the 45 coaches marks an important milestone in the Botswana Football Association strategic scorecard as this translates to the achieving the pillars of Coach education and importantly the strategic objective of people learning and growth is attained.

Being a signatory to the CAF convention on the coaching manuals the Football Association in 2019 conducted CAF B and A coaching course which CAF has to reassure through that it will send an assessment team meaning coaches who were involved in the courses will be able to complete the course in due course.

12 of the 57 coaches did not crack the pass mark, and will have to retake the course in order to attain their CAF C.

Botswana Football Association congratulates coaches on their achievement.

Continue Reading