Connect with us


Amrouche reveals his COSAFA provisional squad

Zebras coach, Adel Amrouche has selected his 30-men provisional squad as the team starts preparations for this year’s senior men COSAFA cup tournament billed for South Africa from 2nd – 14th July 2021. Amrouche’s provisional squad includes foreign-based players, such as Thatayaone Ditlhokwe, Tumisang Orebonye, Kabelo seakanyeng, Mogakolodi Ngele andMothusi Cooper to intensify and beef up his charges ahead of the tourney.

The squad include:


Kabelo Dambe (Township Rollers)

Ezekiel Morake (Jwaneng Galaxy)

Goitseone Phoko (Gaborone United)


Lesenya Malapela (Orapa United)

Tapiwa Gadibolae (Police XI)

Tshepo Maikano (Gaborone United)

Thabo Leinanyane (Jwaneng Galaxy)

Onkarabile Ratanang (Township Rollers)

Mothusi Johnson(Gaborone United)

Thatayaone Ditlhokwe (Supersport United)

Tendai Kesekile (Masitaoka)

Osego Gaotewe (Security Systems)

Simisani Mathumo (Township Rollers)

Fortunate Thulare (Jwaneng Galaxy)


Mosha Gaolaolwe (Township Rollers)

Gape Gagoangwe (Orapa United)

Kabelo Seakanyeng (Khouribga)

Tshepo Malgas (Gaborone United)

Mpho Kgomo (Police XI)

Mothusi Cooper (Lusaka Dynamos)

Kutlwelo Mpolokang (Township Rollers)

Segolame Boy (Township Rollers)

Kobamelo Kebaikanye (Masitaoka)

Thero Setsile (Jwaneng Galaxy)


Mogakolodi Ngele (TTM)

Tumisang Orebonye (Khouribga)

Kitso Mpuisang (Township Rollers)

Thatayaone Kgamanyane (Gaborone United)

Onkabetse Makgantai (Orapa United)

Elias Mbatshi (Orapa United)



Continue Reading


Draw for historic 20th edition of the COSAFA Cup set for Thursday 17th June

The draw for the 2021 COSAFA Cup will be staged in host city Nelson Mandela Bay on Thursday, June 17 as preparations for the historic 20th edition of the regional showpiece competition kick into gear. The 12-team tournament will take place from July 7-18 and returns after the 2020 edition had to be cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The draw will be live on from 11h00, when the fate of the competing teams will be decided.

And there will be plenty of excitement with the addition of west African powerhouse Senegal to the field this year as they make a guest appearance in what is a landmark tournament for COSAFA. The COSAFA Cup has, over the years, launched the careers of a number of top stars from the region and continues to be a major driver of football development on and off the pitch for not just players, but also coaches, match officials and administrators.

The competition will take on a new format for 2021 with the 12 teams split into three groups each containing four teams. This ensures each side will play a minimum of three matches. The top team in each pool, as well as the best second-placed finisher, will advance to the semifinals. There will be no Plate competition.

Zebras will know their opponents on Thursday ahead of the virtual draw

Senegal is the top-ranked side in Africa and sit at number 22 in the world and will make their debut in COSAFA competition. Guest nations from outside the region have, over the years, provided excellent entertainment and a contrast in styles that makes for fascinating viewing. The other 10 sides confirmed so far are no strangers to the COSAFA Cup and include hosts South Africa, defending champions Zambia and record six-time winners Zimbabwe.

Others to have booked their place are Botswana, Comoros Islands, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique and Namibia. The 12th team will be confirmed in the coming days with a number of interested parties. Those who are competing in the group stages of the 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifiers that start in September will be eager to use the tournament to fine-tune their preparations for a shot at making the finals in Qatar.

The 19 previous editions of the competition have seen some great performances and incredible games that have been written into the folklore of Southern African football, but only five nations can claim to have lifted the coveted trophy. Zimbabwe (six wins) lead the way, followed by Zambia (five), South Africa (four), Angola (three) and Namibia (one).

Mozambique, Malawi and Botswana have all twice been finalists, but ended up on the losing side on both occasions. Lesotho (2000) are the only other team to reach the decider.   

Continue Reading