Connect with us


๐—–๐—ข๐—ฆ๐—”๐—™๐—” ๐—–๐—จ๐—ฃ ๐Ÿฎ๐Ÿฌ๐Ÿฎ๐Ÿฎ ๐——๐—ฅ๐—”๐—ช ๐—ฃ๐—ฅ๐—ข๐—–๐—˜๐——๐—จ๐—ฅ๐—˜๐—ฆ ๐—™๐—ผ๐—ฟ๐—บ๐—ฎ๐˜ ๐—ผ๐—ณ ๐—ง๐—ผ๐˜‚๐—ฟ๐—ป๐—ฎ๐—บ๐—ฒ๐—ป๐˜

14 countries split into 2 groups:
โžข 8 Lower ranked teams as per the latest CAF Rankings
โžข 6 Top ranked teams as per the latest CAF Rankings
There are two phases of the competition:
Phase 1:
โžข 8 teams compete in Phase 1, divided into 2 Groups of 4
teams each.
โžข Top 4 ranked teams from the 8 are seeded in Groups A &
B (Malawi; Angola; Comoros; Lesotho).
โžข Winner of each group advances to the Quarter-Final
Phase 2:
โžข 6 Top ranked teams are joined by the 2 winners of Phase
1 in the Quarter-Final Round.
โžข Seeding of the top 4 teams according to rankings
(Senegal; South Africa; Zambia; Madagascar).
โžข Winners of the 4 QF matches advance to the Semi-Final
round and ultimately to the 3rd/4th Classification or Final.
โžข Losers of the 4 QF matches advance to the Plate Semi- Final round.
โžข Winners of these 2 matches advance to the Plate Final.
Draw Procedure:
1. Draw commences for Phase 1 with 4 seeded teams (Malawi; Angola; Comoros; Lesotho) being placed in Pot 1 and the remaining 4 teams in the Pot 2 (Botswana; Eswatini; Mauritius; Seychelles)
2. The first ball drawn out of Pot 1 becomes the seed for Group A and the second ball drawn out is the seed for Group B. The remaining two balls in Pot 1 are drawn for positions A2 & B2.
3. We continue by drawing balls out of Pot 2 to populate the remaining positions (A3; B3; A4; B4)
4. This completes the draw for Phase 1 of the competition.
*MC talks through the Group Round results whilst the Draw Master prepares the balls for the Phase 2 draw.
5. The draw then commences for Phase 2.
6. We now have 6 new seeded teams and 2 teams which will be read as โ€œWinner Group Aโ€ and โ€œWinner Group Bโ€
7. The 4 seeded Phase 2 teams go into Pot 1 and the 2 unseeded teams and the 2 Group round winners go into Pot 2.
8. The fixtures for Phase 2 – QF are established by drawing alternately from Pot 1 (Senegal; South Africa; Zambia; Madagascar) followed by Pot 2 (Namibia;
Mozambique; Winner Group A; Winner Group B) until all 4 fixtures are populated.
9. This completes the draw.


Botswana Loses Out On AFCON 2027 Hosting Rights

The African Football governing body, Confederation of African Football (CAF) today the 27th of September 2023 revealed the joint bid by Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania has won the race for the hosting rights of the host of the 2027 Continental showpiece in Cairo, Egypt.
Meanwhile, The CAF Executive Committee also announced Morocco as the host of the AFCON 2025.

Continue Reading